Canadian Comedy Awards Announced

Funny home-grown talent is honoured with 12th installment of awards.

Jennifer Coxby Jennifer Cox

The 12th annual Canadian Comedy Awards were handed out recently, and at the end of the five-day event some of the country's funniest men and women were celebrated and honoured.

Best Stand-Up Male went to Steve Patterson, a Montreal-bred satirical comic and award-winning writer of "The Jon Dore Show" (as well as an actor in the show – he appeared in a number of episodes), while Best Stand-Up Female was awarded to Debra DiGiovanni, one of the hilarious commentators on the MuchMusic show "Video on Trial." Best Sketch Troupe or Company was bestowed upon Picnicface, and the Best TV Show was "This Movie Sucks!". The comedy "Less Than Kind" picked up two awards: Best Direction as well as Best Television Performance, Female to lead Brooke Palsson.

All of the awards were handed out on Monday evening after several days of workshops, live performances, and a variety of seminars.

The Canadian Comedy Awards & Festival was founded by the Canadian Comedy Foundation for Excellence, a not-for-profit organization. A third entity, the Canadian Comedy Association, has been created and is also under this umbrella, providing a mechanism for national voting and awarding of "The Beavers" each year. The organizations and the team behind them share a common goal: to celebrate and grow Canadian comedic talent. Juries vote on winners and are selected for each category. Jury members are registered industry voters with an expertise in comedy. Jury members must sign a confidentiality agreement, and they each cast their rankings or each category independently.


Photo Credit: Dominic Chan/