WGA Announces Video Game Writing Nominees

The candidates have been announced for their excellence in gaming script writing.

Erik Norrisby Erik Norris

WGA Announces Video Game Writing Nominees

We value story in our video gaming. That’s why we passionately support the honoring of greatness in video game writing by the Writer’s Guild of America, both the East and West divisions. Yesterday the WGA announced the candidates for 2010’s achievement in video game writing, and while some of the nominees are questionable, to say the least, the majority of the choices are solid and deserving.

The winner will be honored at an awards ceremony on February 5 simultaneously in both Los Angeles and New York.

The nominees are as follows:

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner; Ubisoft

Fallout: New Vegas, Creative Design Lead/Lead Writer: John Gonzalez; Writers: Chris Avellone, Eric Fenstermaker, Travis Stout; Additional Writing: Tess Treadwell, George Ziets, Jason Bergman, Nick Breckon, Matt Grandstaff, Will Noble, Andrew Scharf; Bethesda Softworks

God of War III, Written by Marianne Krawcyzk; Additional Writing by Stig Asmussen, Ariel Lawrence, William Weissbaum; Sony Computer Entertainment

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands (Wii), Writer: Benjamin McCaw; Story Dialogue Editor: Marianne Krawczyk; Ubisoft

Singularity, Written by Marc Guggenheim, Lindsey Allen, Emily Silver; Additional Story and Writing: Jason Henderson, Adam Foshko, Michael Cassutt; Story and Script Consultant: Adam Foshko; Activision

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II, Executive Producer-Writer: Haden Blackman; In-Game Script: David Collins, John Stafford, Cameron Suey; Additional Writing: Tid Cooney, Ian Dominguez, Tony Rowe; LucasArts

Follow Regular_Erik on Twitter