Music //

Metallica Go Indie, Detail ‘Quebec Magnetic’ DVD Release

With total control over their output, Metallica is setting out to do things their way.

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud

Metallica are celebrating their label idependence by putting out a brand new DVD/Blu-ray release, called Quebec Magnetic. The concert film, shot by Wayne Isham, captures the two World Magnetic shows the band played in Quebec City in the fall of 2009.

Check out the tracklist below (and cover art above) for the upcoming DVD, which  features a barrage of classics including "One," "Sad But True," "Master of Puppets," "Nothing Else Matters," "Seek & Destroy" and "For Whom the Bell Tolls."

Quebec Magnetic will be available on December 10. Full preorder details at

The band had the following to say about the DVD release and label:

"About a month ago we mentioned that we have a live DVD in the works to complete the Death Magnetic experience and leaned on you to help us decide which songs would be on the main disc. As promised, we're back now with more details on that DVD, Quebec Magnetic (!?!) which will find its way to your local retailer, online store, and favorite digital provider on December 10, 2012.

This release is a first for us… yes boys and girls, the DVD and Blu-ray will be come out on our very own label in North America! There are still some "i's" being dotted and "t's crossed, so we can't give you a name or fancy logo just yet, but we're pretty excited that for the first time we get to hold all the reins on a release from start to finish. Since we now get to call all the shots, the double DVD and single disc Blu-ray will be available for a price we thought was very Metallica fan friendly – suggested retail will be $15.98 for either format.

Just in case you missed the first story, the DVD was shot by our long time cohort Wayne Isham, capturing the two World Magnetic shows in Quebec City in the fall of 2009. You were kind enough to help us select the set list by voting here on this site, choosing the songs played in setlist number two as the main program. All the songs played at those two shows will be included on the DVD/Blu-ray."

Quebec Magnetic tracklist:

01. That Was Just Your Life

02. The End Of The Line

03. The Four Horsemen

04. The Shortest Straw

05. One

06. Broken, Beat & Scarred

07. My Apocalypse

08. Sad But True

09. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)

10. The Judas Kiss

11. The Day That Never Comes

12. Master Of Puppets

13. Battery

14. Nothing Else Matters

15. Enter Sandman

16. Killing Time

17. Whiplash

18. Seek & Destroy


Bonus tracks:

19. For Whom The Bell Tolls

20. Holier Than Thou

21. Cyanide

22. Turn The Page

23. All Nightmare Long

24. Damage, Inc.

25. Breadfan

26. Phantom Lord