Twitter Canada’s Biggest Moments

Who dominated Twitter in 2016?

Jennifer Coxby Jennifer Cox

Twitter Canada has revealed data for the year end, and celebs like Justin Bieber and Justin Trudeau dominated social media.

According to reports, the Biebs achieved more than 90 million followers this year, Drake (@drake) hit the 30-million mark, only the second Canadian musician to do so, and Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) became the first Canadian politician to reach two million followers.

Canada’s Most Used Hashtags of 2016:

#BellLetsTalk
#Toronto
#Canada
#tbt
#Rio2016
#PokemonGO
MentalHealth
#ElectionNight
#WeTheNorth
#OurMoment

Other stats released include the most Twitter mentions for Canadians in 2016, and they were:

Musicians

Justin Bieber (@justinbieber)
Shawn Mendes (@ShawnMendes)
Drake (@Drake)
Sebastian Olzanski (@sebtsb)
The Weeknd (@theweeknd)
Alessia Cara (@AlessiaCara)
Deadmau5 (@deadmau5)
Celine Dion (@CelineDion)
Carly Rae Jepsen (@CarlyRaeJepsen)
Simple Plan (@SimplePlan)

Actors

Ryan Reynolds (@VanCityReynolds)
Shay Mitchell (@shaymitch)
Stephen Amell (@stephenamell)
Nina Dobrev (@ninadobrev)
Seth Rogen (@sethrogen)
Stana Katic (@stana_katic)
Nathan Fillion (@nathanfillion)
William Shatner (@williamshatner)
Tatiana Maslany (@TatianaMaslany)
Ryan Gosling (@RyanGosling)

Athletes

P.K. Subban (@PKSubban1)
Genie Bouchard (@geniebouchard)
Connor McDavid (@cmcdavid97)
Jonathan Toews (@JonathanToews)
Milos Raonic (@MilosRaonic)
James Hinchcliffe (@Hinchtown)
Andrew Wiggins (@22wiggins)
Tristan Thompson (@realtristan13)
Andre De Grasse (@de6rasse)
Penny Oleksiak (@oleksiakpenny)

Photo: WENN.com